Southern Governors To Meet In Lagos On Monday

The 17 governors from South West, South East and South South are expected to meet in Lagos State on Monday to discuss latest national issues forge stronger partnership.

It is understood that the meeting is coming after 12 years of a similar gathering.

In a statement issued by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Mr Tunji Bello, the meeting, which will be co-hosted by the governors of Lagos State, Akinwunmi Ambode and Akwa Ibom, Emmanuel Udom, will address issues that are germane to the development of the three contiguous zones.

Bello said the meeting is in line with the realisation that the different states in the South have since 2005 developed several areas of comparative advantage which could be harnessed and become mutually beneficial.

According to him, the Governors would also be expected to adopt a common position on the issues of armed robbery, kidnapping, devolution of powers and issue of fiscal federalism which have all gained prominence of late.

“The 2017 Lagos summit of the 17 Southern Governors representing the South South, South West and South East zones is expected to come up with a communiqué after the deliberation.

“It is noteworthy to recall that the inaugural meeting of the Southern Governors took place in Lagos in 2001 under the administration of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu,” Bello said.

The statement added that the predominance of views is that if the Southern States speak with one voice, they are bound to attract weighty and credible listenership.

The 17 southern state governors expected at the summit include Governors Emmanuel Udom of Akwa Ibom; Ben Ayade of Cross Rivers State; Godwin Obaseki of Edo State; Nyesom Wike of Rivers State; Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State; Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa and Rochas Okorocha of Imo State.

Also, Willie Obiano of Anambra State; Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State; David Umahi of Ebonyi State; Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State; Rauf Aregbesola of State of Osun; Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo; Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun; Oluwarotimi Akeredolu of Ondo; Ayodele Fayose of Ekiti and Ambode of Lagos State.

Facebook Comments

About felicitiblog

Check Also


Share this on WhatsApp Effyzzie Music diva Yemi Alade is set to release her fifth …

ARTWORK + TRACKLIST: Omah Lay – What Have We Done (EP)

Share this on WhatsApp Nigerian Talented Singer, Omah Lay is set to drop his latest …

ARTWORK + TRACKLIST: Lil Kesh – Ecstasy (EP)

Share this on WhatsApp Afro-fusion and street-hop titan Lil Kesh is getting set to release …

Leave a Reply